About me

I am an active composer, music teacher, farmer, and organizer of music events. I share a monthly Music as Meditation concert with listeners and fellow musicians and I organize several concerts of new music each year. I use this blog to tell people about my musical endeavors. You can find pages about The Davis Hill Farm and The Davis Hill Studio on this blog. Look for the orange link on the right-hand side of the page.

Friday, February 21, 2014

I am pleased to announce that people interested in some new pieces for piano may try some of mine. I have placed a set I'm calling Three Little Pieces at the link below. I'd be happy to hear that some pianists out there are trying them out. I've enjoyed writing them.

The first in the series is called The End is the Beginning. The title refers to the formal aspect of the piece. It's quite short, fun to play if you like open chords, and a little plaintive, but not without some prettiness.

The second piece is a Two-Part Invention which I've subtitled Three Part Inversion—a reference to the manipulations I performed to get three iterations of a theme. It requires some interesting pedaling, offering a chance to practice that skill.

The third piece is called Triptych—It has three panels, if you will, and uses the entire range of the piano with lots of crossing over. I was thinking a lot about compatible and incompatible bi-tonality when I composed it. So, as with many of my pieces, it contains a lot of minor nines. All the same, it is tuneful.

When I perform these, I plan to play the first piece twice, once at the beginning and once at the end.

I hope you enjoy them.

No comments:

Post a Comment